FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
If your building requires a certificate of insurance, send your building manager’s name and email address to firstname.lastname@example.org. We will reach out to your manager and provide the Certificate of Insurance.
What is your CANCELLATION POLICY?
To reschedule or cancel your appointment, please call (323) 772-7972. A $50 fee applies to all jobs canceled or rescheduled less than 48 hours from the appointment start time. Canceling your first pickup with less than 48-hour notice will forfeit the $50 deposit.
If it is 7 hours and 15 minutes, you pay for 7 hours and 15 minutes, not 8 hours.
How do lunch breaks work? Do you charge partial hours?
If we take a break-we stop the time. You don't pay for the break time.
The Double Drive Time Law (DDT), passed by the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC), requires California-based moving companies to double the amount of time it takes to get from the origin point to the destination point at the agreed-upon hourly rate. This law applies to ALL moving companies in the state of California. Page 58. https://bhgs.dca.ca.gov/forms_pubs/max_4_2021.pdf
We charge 10% more on all credit cards.
If our team did a great job, tipping is welcome but not required. Show them some love on thumbtack and Yelp!